Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Congratulations! You’re a summer associate at a law firm. This guide will help you exceed expectations by doing prime work; presenting yourself well; building relationships; and managing your time, workload, and well-being.
Introduction - Start Here!
Congratulations on finding a placement for the summer. This guide is intended to supplement your Summer Associate experience, and provide some additional information. You will find many useful resources on NYLI's website and on the Electronic Resources page in particular: https://www.nyli.org/electronic-resources/
Legal Citation Refresher
Here is a quick reminder of how Legal Citation works.
More detailed citation guides are here:
Legal Research and Writing Guides
The New York Law Institute has several resources dedicated to legal research and writing.
Black's Law Dictionary, 11e by
Call Number: REF KF156 .B53 2019
Publication Date: 2019-01-01
Legal dictionary. Remember, even words you think you know may have a different or specific meaning in law.
First Trial (Where Do I Sit? What Do I Say?) in a Nutshell, 3e by
Call Number: KF8915 .Z9 G59 2016
Publication Date: 2016-03-18
The First Trial Nutshell is a fresh and unique approach to advocacy instruction. Concentrating on the overall approach to trying a case, it weaves persuasion and procedure to help lawyers and law students prepare for their first trials with confidence. Addressing everything from technology to where to sit and what to say it meshes the practical advice and âeoehow toâe instructions with sophisticated persuasive techniques. Small enough to be read in a single sitting, this book will serve as the perfect first primer and a continuing resource for experienced litigators to read again before trial mediation or arbitration.
Bluebook : A Uniform System of Citation, 20e by
Call Number: REF KF 245 .B58 2015
Publication Date: 2015-06-25
Use this legal citation manual to break apart citations and determine the type of resource or use the tables to determine jurisdictional resources.
Legal Research in a Nutshell, 13e by
Call Number: KF240 .C54 2018
Finding and using legal resources effectively is an essential skill for lawyers. This comprehensive but succinct guide covers research procedures using major online services, free Internet resources, and library materials. Several hundred websites are discussed and placed in context for effective and productive use in research. Discussion includes coverage of legislative history, administrative law, specialized and interdisciplinary resources, and research in international and comparative law. Appendices list state research guides and treatises and services by subject, and a companion website has a regularly updated list of URLs and illustrations of online and print resources.
Basic Legal Research: Tools and Strategies (2nd ed.) by
Call Number: SUPRS'D KF240 .S66 2003
Basic Legal Research: Tools and Strategies, Seventh Edition by Amy E. Sloan is known for its clear, step-by-step instruction in the basics. Using a building-block approach, the textbook breaks material into discrete, readily comprehensible parts. Self-contained chapters on sources make the book flexible for any type of legal research course. Useful pedagogy throughout the text includes end-of-chapter checklists, clear examples, and summary charts. Helpful sample pages and examples of research sources guide students through the presentation.
Basic Legal Research Workbook by
Call Number: SUPRS'D KF240 .S662 2005
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
Using a building-block approach,Basic Legal Research: Tools and Strategies, Sixth Editionbreaks material into discrete, readily comprehensible parts. Self-contained chapters on sources make the book flexible for any type of legal research course. Useful pedagogy throughout the text includes end-of-chapter checklists, clear examples, and summary charts. Helpful sample pages and examples of research sources guide students through the presentation, and an accompanying workbook provides exercises to test comprehension.