Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

eBooks at The New York Law Institute: Lexis Digital OverDrive eBooks

Complete how-to guide to NYLI's eBook collections

undefined

The New York Law Institute offers members access to nearly 500 legal titles through this collection including:

•Over 100 Matthew Bender, Carolina Academic Press, and James Publishing titles  

Click on the link and choose LexisNexis eBooks

•177 ABA titles.. Click on the link and then chose the saved search ABA eBooks!
•198 Nutshell titles (The complete West Academic Nutshell collection). After clicking on the link choose Nutshell eBooks
 
 
  • Use your NYLI Library credentials to login when prompted.
  • If logging in for the first time, or using the app, enter the library code for The New York Law Institute which is: newyorklaw
  • If using a desktop or laptop you may alternatively log in as Guest

Advantages of using a Lexis/OverDrive eBook

  • Download titles to mobile devices, including iPhones, iPads, Kindle Fires, and Android Devices
  • Search within a book for specific words or phrases
  • Save, print, or email chapters or sections
  • Copy and paste portions of text for easy access during the research process
  • Link to books or book chapters for easy reference or social sharing
  • Add, edit, and save Annotations

 


 

Getting Started with Lexis Digital Library eBooks

Start your research or resume your work from your customized workspace. As you read eBooks, take notes and add personal tags, your home page populates.

  • A. Search bar enables you to find eBooks by title, author or practice area within your collection.
  • B. Recently read eBook titles appear front and center for quick access.
  • C. My annotations shows you the most recent eBooks in which you have added notes and highlights. To view all annotations, click the Go to my annotations link or My Annotations in the left navigation bar.
  • D. My tags displays all titles you have tagged for easy access.
  • E. Home brings you back to the main page.
  • F. Browse library allows you to view curated collections, sort by relevance or browse by filter.
  • G. My books shows your history as well as shared, expiring and downloaded titles, plus those on hold, when applicable.
  • H. Export queue makes it easy to view all selected annotations and select and export passages.
  • I. My account includes features like download settings, help and sign out

undefined

 

LEARN ABOUT YOUR TITLES 

Select an eBook to learn more about its author, edition and release date, or to view the table of contents. From this page you can also copy a title link to share with another researcher in your organization, add a personal tag to organize eBooks of interest by project ID or topic, or search a single eBook or its entire title before opening it.

undefined

 

READING THE eBOOK

Click Read to begin reading the title. Add annotations, navigate via the table of contents, and much more. Blue links take you to locations inside the book, and green links connect you to cases and statutes on the Lexis Advance® research service.* Use My annotations page while on the digital library home screen to access and sort your notes quickly without opening the eBook. 

undefined

How to search for a keyword or phrase in a set

To search for a keyword or phrase in a set:

  1. Select the cover image on a title card to see the set or title details.
  2. (Individual volumes only) Under "Search this set," make sure Entire set is selected under "Search type."
  3. If you want to search for keywords instead of an exact phrase, change "Search by" to Keyword.
  4. Enter a keyword or phrase into the search box and select search icon.
  5. Select Go to passage to open the specific passage in a volume. Or, select Read to open the volume at your latest reading position.

How to filter search results and collections

To add filters:

  1. Select Filters near the top of a collection or search results page.
  2. Choose a category: Content typeJurisdiction, or Practice area.
  3. Select as many filters as you'd like.
    If you want to add a filter from a different category, select the back arrow near the top to return to the main filters.
  4. Select Apply.

If you're just using filters from one category, your results will include titles that fit any of your filters.

If you add filters from multiple categories, your results will only include titles that fit all of your filters.

Examples

  • If you select Deskbook and Treatise under "Content type," your results will include both deskbooks and treatises.
  • If you select Casebook under "Content type" and Corporate law under "Practice area," your results will only include corporate law casebooks.
  • If you select California and New York under "Jurisdiction" and Copyright under "Practice area," your results will include titles about copyright in California or copyright in New York.

Basic features of the ebook reader

To open the ebook reader, select Read next to a book.

As long as you have an internet connection, you can close the ebook and reopen it where you left off.

Navigating in an ebook

To turn the page, click or tap the right or left edge of the ebook.

Click or tap the middle of the screen to bring up the seek bar, which you can use to move backward or forward in the ebook. Below the seek bar, you'll see chapter breaks, bookmarks, and highlights.

Ebook reader features

You'll see many of the ebook reader features across the top of the screen, including:

  • Printing pages
  • Creating and viewing annotations
  • Creating bookmarks: Click or tap the bookmark icon (in the top-center) to place a bookmark. On a smaller screen, tap the top-right corner to place a bookmark.
  • Searching: Select Search or the search icon to look for a word or phrase within the ebook. You can also see and rerun your recent searches.
  • Viewing the table of contents: Select Table of Contents or table of contents icon, then click or tap a section to jump to that part of the ebook. You can also use the "Filter" field at the top to search and filter the table of contents.
  • Change your reading settings:
    • Text scale: Use the slider to adjust the size of the text in the ebook. For a wider range of text sizes, toggle Include accessibility sizes on.
    • Lighting: Choose Bright (black text on a white background), Sepia (dark red text on a tan background), or Dark (white text on a black background).
    • Book design: Choose a preset design, or select Custom to change the font, justification, line spacing, and text weight.
    • Display: On a larger screen, select one-page display icon or two-page display icon in the bottom-right to switch between a one-page and two-page display.

The menu

You'll find the menu icon in the top-right corner of the ebook reader.

In the menu, you can access your Bookmarks and see Tips for using the ebook reader.

On a device with a smaller screen, the features typically along the top of the reader will be collapsed into the menu.

How to make annotations in ebooks

To make an annotation, click (or tap) and hold a word. To select more than one word, hold and drag. Then, select Add annotation to highlight the text. If you'd like, you can change the color of the highlight and add a note.

Once you add a note, you'll see a small icon next to the highlighted text.

Highlighter mode

To quickly make annotations, click (or tap) highlight icon at the top of the ebook reader and choose a color from the highlighter color drop-down. An annotation with that highlight color will be added to any text you select, and you'll have the option to add a note (and change the highlight color).

Viewing your annotations

You can find all your annotations in the ebook reader under Annotations (or annotations icon). From there, you can select an annotation to jump to that section or select Print to print all your entries.

To see your annotations for all titles, go to your My annotations page in the digital library. From there, you can copy an annotation, search or filter your entries, or add items to your export queue.

How to make annotations in ebooks

Instructions for how to print/copy from Lexis eBook 

How to print ebook sections

To print, open a LexisNexis ebook, then select Print at the top of the ebook reader. You'll need to use a web browser (not the LexisNexis Digital Library app) to print.

Note: You can only print from ebooks published by LexisNexis.

The current page, the current chapter, or several chapters may print, depending on the ebook.

Printing specific pages from a section

To print specific pages from the current section, select a custom page range in your browser's print confirmation pop-up. We recommend using Chrome, which includes a preview of the selected pages.

To print specific pages from Chrome:

  1. Select Print at the top of the ebook reader.
  2. Select OK.
  3. In the "Pages" drop-down, select Custom.
  4. Specify the pages you want, then select Print.

Instructions for how to download Lexis eBooks

How to download titles

You can download titles for offline use in the LexisNexis Digital Library app (for Android and iOS), Chrome, Firefox, or Edge (Chromium). The number of titles you can download depends on the storage space in your browser or device.

Note: You can only download the most recent release of a title.

By default, titles automatically download when you open them. If you need to, you can download titles manually with these steps:

  1. If you haven't opened the title recently, select Read, then close the book.
  2. Click or tap Online only icon.
  3. Select Download title.

Downloaded titles have a check icon on the title card.

How to use the digital library offline

You can read or listen to downloaded titles and access your annotations offline using the LexisNexis Digital Library app (for Android and iOS), Chrome, Firefox, and Edge (Chromium).

Once you're offline, you can find all of your downloaded titles under My books > Downloaded, and access your annotations from My annotations.

If you make annotations in a downloaded book while offline, they'll sync when you're back online.

Getting back to downloaded titles in your browser

To easily get back to a downloaded title in your browser when you're offline, add a shortcut for the LexisNexis Digital Library to your desktop, or bookmark the site. Steps for shortcuts and bookmarks vary by browser.

How to change your download settings

You can download titles for offline use in the LexisNexis Digital Library app (for Android and iOS), Chrome, Firefox, or Edge (Chromium).

By default, titles are automatically downloaded for offline use when you open them (as long as your browser or device has space). You can change your settings if you don't want titles to download automatically.

To change your download settings:

  1. Select my account icon in the top-right corner.
  2. Select Download settings.
  3. Turn Automatic downloads on or off. If you're using the mobile app, you can also turn Download only on Wi-Fi on or off.

How to place holds

Some titles in the LexisNexis Digital Library have limited copies and lending periods.

If no copies of a title are available, you'll need to place it on hold. Once the title is available, it will be automatically borrowed for you and you'll get an email notification.

Placing a hold

  1. Click (or tap) Place hold on the title card.
  2. Enter your email address.
  3. Select Place hold.

You can find your holds list in the "Holds" tab in My books.