Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

eBooks at The New York Law Institute: Proquest eBooks

Complete how-to guide to NYLI's eBook collections

undefined

The New York Law Institute offers members access to over 160,000 eBooks through this collection.  Additionally we have access to Proquest's catalog of nearly 800,000 eBooks which members may request for consideration.

.

Search Proquest eBooks

 

IMPORTANT:

  • Use your NYLI Library credentials to login when prompted.
  • Install Adobe Digital editions to download an eBook. We recommend ensuring you have the most recent version of Digital Editions installed. Download the software for free at https://www.adobe.com/solutions/ebook/digital-editions/download.html. If you are prompted to 'Authorize your computer', then leave the e-book vendor as 'Adobe ID' and tick the box which says 'I want to authorize my computer without an ID'. You only need to create an ID if you want to transfer downloads across multiple devices.  This is a one-time process required to download an eBook offline. 

Advantages of using a Proquest eBook

  • Download titles to mobile devices, including iPhones, iPads, Kindle Fires, and Android Devices
  • Search within a book for specific words or phrases
  • Save, print, or email chapters or sections
  • Copy and paste portions of text for easy access during the research process
  • Link to books or book chapters for easy reference or social sharing
  • Save a list of favorite books to a personal Bookshelf
  • Proquest complete publishers list.

 

Search Proquest eBooks

 

Searching in Ebook Central

It’s easy to begin a new search from wherever you are in Ebook Central. Just look for the Search box at the top of the page, or the Search link in the global navigation.  The image below shows an example of search results. 

The keyword is highlighted in the search results, and there’s a short description to give you a bit more information about the book.  You can refine your searching by using search filters such as Year Published, Subject, Language, and Author.  Download the book, read it online, see the Table of Contents and more, and add the book to your bookshelf. Chapter Results provide the top chapters from the most relevant books.

undefined

 

Advanced Searching

Know exactly what you’re looking for? Leverage a wide range of search criteria including:

  • Keyword & Full Text
  • Title
  • Series Title
  • Author
  • Publisher
  • ISBN
  • LC Subject Heading
  • LC Call Number
  • Dewey Decimal Number
  • Ebook Central Subject
  • Publication Year
  • Language
  • Download Format
  • Book Status
  • Number of Copies
  • Academic Complete Subscription Titles

Don't have a particular topic in mind? Browse a list of available subjects, see what looks interesting to you, and click on a subject link to find out what NYLI has on ProQuest Ebook Central.  Doing the same search over and over again? Save time by entering your criteria once, giving your search a name, and saving it to your account. Choose whether to run results online or let us email new results to you.

undefined

Book Details

Whether you find a book through searching ProQuest Ebook Central or through NYLI's library catalog, there's lots of information about the book to help you decide whether to use it for your research.

At a glance you can see:

  • How many copies are available at your institution
  • If the title is currently available
  • If the title is available for full title download
  • PDF chapter downloads
  • Copy and print allowances
  • View chapter page range and page count details
  • Pages remaining for PDF chapter printing/download
  • The Table of Contents and expandable book description
  • Full set of bibliographic data, including series and edition, expandable to include full bibliographic details

If you choose to work with a book, you may do the following:

  • Read online
  • Download the full book
  • Add to bookshelf
  • Share link to book
  • Cite the book

From the Table of Contents you may do the following:

  • Read online or download book chapters and subsections in PDF
  • Expand parts and chapters to access subsections

New additional elements on the Detail Page:

  • You May Also Like” feature – on the spot recommendations based on your library’s ebook holdings
  • Reader reviews - more than 1.5 million vetted reader reviews from LibraryThing
  • About the Author information - including author biographical information and author photograph
  • Core Titles Feature - titles curated by ACRL/Choice and specific to a researcher's search query
  • Awards - any and all honors or awards a book title may have received
  • Tags - an easy way to explore related content tagged with genres, subjects and other chapters   

undefined

Reading books online in Ebook Central

Ebook Central allows you to read ebooks online directly on the platform without the need to download them first.

In the majority of cases you will do this via the proprietary Ebook Central Reader which offers a streamlined reading experience and a multitude of options to work with the text ranging from simple bookmarks to highlighting passages of text in different colours to adding annotations, creating citations and more while automatically keeping it all safe in your personal Ebook Central bookshelf, ready to pick up where you left off.
More on how to use the Ebook Central Reader directly below.

Ebook Central Reader

The Ebook Central Reader was developed with extensive input from researchers, with intuitive navigation to help you quickly find popular features. The default view includes an expandable Table of Contents, a robust Search Within feature, relevancy ranked search terms by chapter, and a navigation tool bar in the content pane:

1. Book DetailsEbook Central Online Reader Interface
View your print and copy allowances.

2. Annotations Icon
View your highlights, notes and bookmarks.

3. Search Within Book
Type your search term into the search box, making sure to put phrases in quotes. Search results are displayed with frequency bars next to each chapter. Select the chapter name to see the results per page and contextual snippets of text.

4. Book Download 
Downloading a book is an easy 3-step process to computers, tablets, and phones.

5. Chapter Download
Download a chapter to PDF. Text is searchable and selectable, and a citation is included. Pages included in your Chapter Download are counted as part of your overall print allowances. 

6. Copy
Copy the whole page by selecting the copy icon in the navigation toolbar. To copy text within a page, select your text and use the copy icon in the pop-up menu.

7. Print
Create a PDF of a page, or a range of pages that can be printed or saved, and which includes a citation of the book. Printed pages are counted as part of your overall print allowances. 

8. Add to Bookshelf
Save this book to your online bookshelf. If you have already added the title, the icon will be disabled.

9. Share Link
Copy a URL to this page in the book, which you may share with others at your institution. 

10. Cite
Create a citation from your choice of styles: APA, Chicago/Turabian - Notes-Bibliography, Chicago/Turabian - Author-Date, Harvard, MLA, or Vancouver. If you have a preferred citation style, you may set that preference in Settings.

Ebook Central Reader search results

11. Search Terms by Chapter and Page
Expand the Table of Contents to see search terms by chapter and page and click in the contextual snippet of text to navigate to that page.

12. Zoom Options
Zoom in (+), zoom out (-), fit to width, or fit to page.

13. Go To Page
To navigate to a specific page in the book, click on top of the page number and enter your desired page.

14. Previous/Next
Move backward or forward through a book one page at a time.

15. Settings
Reset your password, change your default citation style, and more.

 

Ebook Central Reader full viewClicking on the little 'x' in the left columns top right corner will collapse this column and provide you with a larger display of the page:

 

 

 

Ebook Central Downloads

ProQuest Ebook Central offers flexible options for downloading content.

Download the book to computers, tablets, and phones. Simply select your device in the first step, and we’ll guide you through the rest!

Download a chapter, a page, or a range of pages in real PDF. Text is searchable and selectable, and a citation is included in a style of your choice.

 

Install - Adobe Digital Editions

If you’re using a laptop or desktop, you need Adobe Digital Editions a free program that is different than Adobe Reader.

A free Adobe ID is also required to transfer the ebook to another device, but not if you’re just reading it on the same computer. 

 

Download to Mobile Devices

On iOS and Android devices, we recommend to use the Adobe Digital Editions app, which is free from the Apple App Store and Google Play.

You can use other reader apps as long as they are able to handle the Adobe DRM (Digital Rights Management). Search in the app store of your choice for e.g. 'adobe drm reader' or just 'adobe drm' to get a list of potentially suitable apps.

Please note: You do need an Adobe ID to be able to read downloaded books on a mobile device. You can get an Adobe ID for free HERE (link goes out to the Adobe account login page where you have to click on the "Get an Adobe ID"-link).

How to download Proquest eBooks

  • Navigate to the eBook
  • Click the Download icon for the eBook you would like to download.

            

Ebook Central Full Download - Devices

Ebook Central Downloads - Adobe Digital Editions

Ebook Central - Complete Full Download

Adobe Digital Editions - Full Title Download

Here is an example of a full title download in Adobe Digital Editions.

 

Instructions for how to print pages or a section from an eBook

Printing and copying and pasting is easy from within the Proquest interface - see also the eBook Reader tab in this LibGuide.  Simply click into the ebook you'd like to click from and select the print icon at the top of the interface (see below).  You will then be prompted to initiate a book loan as well.

undefined

 

Ebook Central: Per User Per Day Copy, print, and download limits

For each book, there is a limit on the number of pages that can be copied, printed, and page/chapter-downloaded per user, per day.

For a user signed in to an Ebook Central account, the default limits within Ebook Central are as follows:
  • Number of pages from which text can be copied 20% of a book's total pages
    • The tally of copies performed in a book resets every 24 hours.
    • Multiple selections copied from the same page count as just one copy.
    • Example: for a 200-page book, you can copy text from up to 40 pages every 24 hours.
  • Number of pages that can be printed or page/chapter-downloaded 40% of a book's total pages
    • The tally of prints and page/chapter-downloads performed in a book resets every 24 hours.
    • Both "Print to PDF" and "Chapter Download" deduct against the same total.
    • Example: for a 200-page book, you can print or page/chapter-download up to 80 pages every 24 hours.
  • A few publishers have set lower copy/print limits than what we have listed here as the defaults.  However, regardless of publisher, the tally resets every 24 hours.
  • If a user is accessing Ebook Central as a guest user (that is, they have selected 'continue as guest' instead of signing in to an account), the copy and print allowances may be lower. For example, the default limits for a guest user are 15% of a book's pages for copy and 30% of the book's pages for print/chapter-download.

For books that are full-downloaded:
  • There are separate limits on the number of copies and prints that can be performed on the full-download of a book (for example, from within Adobe Digital Editions):
    • Number of pages from which text can be copied 20% of the book's total pages
    • Number of pages that can be printed or page/chapter-downloaded 40% of the book's total pages
    • The tally of these copies and prints are unrelated to the copies and prints performed in Ebook Central.

The limits and the pages remaining for each of the above are shown on each book's Detail Page.  To see this information while reading a book, click User-added image "Book Details" on the side bar to display the details in the left panel.
User-added image

Forwarding eBooks on to Attorneys

If you would like to forward an eBook on to an attorney we make the following suggestions:

  • Navigate all the way to the eBook record for the title you want.
  • Click Share link to eBook
  • Copy and paste link into an email along with your firm-wide login credentials so that the attorney can get instant access to the eBook. (If you are unsure what your firm-wide login is, please contact us as edolan@nyli.org and we will provide you with that information.

           undefined 

Rollout tips

  • If you're considering rolling out our NYLI eBook collections to everyone at your firm, please take a moment to check out our Rollout Tips page complete with technical guidance, training videos, and eBook demo suggestions.            
  • https://www.nyli.org/ebooks-rollout

            

           undefined