Skip to Main Content

Bankruptcy Law Research at NYLI: Bankruptcy Rules


Bankruptcy Code

Title 11 is divided into several chapters.  For historical reasons, all but one of the chapters are odd-numbered—1, 3, 5, 7, 9, 11, 12, 13, and 15.  Chapters 1, 3, and 5 are general provisions that are applicable in all bankruptcy proceedings, unless explicitly made inapplicable in a specific context. The remaining chapters each govern a different type of bankruptcy proceeding.

Federal Bankruptcy Code – Title 11

Title 11 is currently subdivided into eight chapters. Find detail at the same Cornell site
Chapter 1. General Provisions, Definitions and Rules of Construction
Chapter 3. Case Administration
Chapter 5. Creditors, the Debtor, and the Estate
Chapter 7. Liquidation
Chapter 9. Adjustment of the Debts of Municipality
Chapter 11. Reorganization
Chapter 12. Adjustment of the Debts of a Family Farmer with Regular Annual Income
Chapter 13. Adjustment of the Debts of An Individual with Regular Income

Case Law

  Federal courts have exclusive jurisdiction over bankruptcy cases involving personal, business, or farm bankruptcy. This means a bankruptcy case cannot be filed in state court. Through the bankruptcy process, individuals or businesses that can no longer pay their creditors may either seek a court-supervised liquidation of their assets, or they may reorganize their financial affairs and work out a plan to pay their debts.

Federal Rules

Local Rules